THE SON OF THE KHMER EMPIRE Be informed that FB Account Sokheoun Pang is Fake Created by CPP Supporter​ to Defame and Complicate Me. Mine is Khmer Sovannaphumi

​​​បើខ្មែរមានមេដឹកនាំល្អ​​​ ខ្មែរអាចធ្វើអ្វីក៏បានដែរ!

Prince Sisowath Sirik Matak’s letter to US Ambassador John Gunther Dean

with 4 comments


Sisowath Sirik Matak

Dear Excellency and friend,

I thank you very sincerely for your letter and for your offer to transport me towards freedom. I cannot, alas, leave in such a cowardly fashion.

As for you and in particular for your great country, I never believed for a moment that you would have this sentiment of abandoning a people which has chosen liberty. You have refused us your protection and we can do nothing about it. You leave us and it is my wish that you and your country will find happiness under the sky.

But mark it well that, if I shall die here on the spot and in my country that I love, it is too bad because we are all born and must die one day. I have only committed the mistake of believing in you, the Americans.

Please accept, E

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] Within a few years, the capital fell to the growing insurgency. The U.S. offered asylum to the leaders of Cambodia’s collapsing government; many accepted it, but many others refused. Preferring near-certain execution at the hands of the Khmer Rouge (his name was already published on the movement’s list of “seven traitors”) Sisowath Sirik Matak reproached his U.S. patrons in a letter to the American ambassador declining evacuation. […]

  2. Right here is the perfect web site for everyone who would like to understand this topic.

    Youu know so much its almost hard to argue with you (not that I really wwould want to…HaHa).
    You definitely put a fresh spin on a subject which has been written abbout for ages.
    Great stuff, jist wonderful!

    affiliate tracking

    May 20, 2015 at 4:03 pm

  3. I’m noww not sure the place you’re ggetting your information, however great topic.
    I must spend a whnile learning much more or understanding
    more. Thanks for great info I used to be searching for this info
    for my mission.

    short url

    June 6, 2015 at 5:19 pm

  4. […] Sirik Matak […]


Leave a comment